Do I have to add my teen driver to my Insurance policy?
There are several questions surround teenage drivers, when or how to get them insurance, and how your rates as a parent may be affected. So, to clarify any questions about teen driving and teen insurance, we’ve compiled a list of commonly asked questions.
1- Do I have to add my teen driver to my insurance policy?
If your teen is a licensed driver, then they will need to either be added to your policy or carry their own insurance. Most insurance companies will require you to provide the name of all licensed drivers in your household.
2- Do permit drivers need insurance in Florida?
Permit drivers or teens with a learner’s permit need to carry insurance in Florida.
3- When should I add my teen to my policy? The day they get their license?
State of Florida requires all licensed drivers to carry the minimum coverage of $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage and $10,000 Property Damage Liability coverage. They will need to be covered under insurance (either under your policy or a new policy of their own).
4- Will my insurance rates go up if I add my teenager?
It is likely that your insurance rate will increase when adding a new teenage driver. This is because teens have a higher risk of getting into an accident than more experienced drivers. The type of vehicle and coverage levels you select for your teen will also impact your premium. Your teen may qualify for some discounts for being a good student or for taking a driver’s education course.
If you are planning to add a teenage driver to your policy, shop around. Other insurance companies may provide a better rate (or give better discounts) than your current provider. Also, if you are adding a car along with the teen driver, you may get an additional multi-car discount.
5- How can a teen driver get better insurance rates?
Teenagers have higher insurance rates because of their age and inexperience. There are ways for your teen to save on insurance. Having good grades (usually a “B” or higher grade average) or the successfully completion an approved driver’s education course are some of the most common discounts available for teenage drivers.
Insurance rates are also calculated by the distance the car is commonly driven (e.g. the distance from home to school or work), how often the car is driven, and the type of car that is driven. If your child has to drive far for school, insurance rates may be higher. Also, sports cars, trucks, and SUVs are going to have higher insurance rates (especially for teens).
6- When do insurance premiums typically drop?
Typically, after the age of 25, insurance premiums tend to go down until the age of 70. If you have any tickets or accidents on your driving record, the rates will go up until the statute of limitations runs out and the ticket or accident is cleared from your driving record.
It is important that you discuss driving safely with your teen. Statistically they are already at a higher risk for being involved in an accident and driving poorly can not only increase your insurance premiums now but can affect your teen into their adulthood.
7- Does my teen need the same coverage that I have?
Your teen will need, at a minimum, the Florida state law requirement of $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance and $10,000 Property Damage Liability coverage. It is recommended to purchase additional coverage since teens are more likely to be involved in an accident than an older, more experience driver. If your teen driver is leasing a vehicle or got a loan to purchase a vehicle then comprehensive or collision insurance coverage are required by the car loan company.
8- What if I don’t tell my insurance carrier about my teen driver?
There can be serious repercussions if you do not notify your insurance company of your licensed teenage driver, especially if they get into an accident while they are driving. Your insurance company may deny a claim for coverage which would leave you responsible for the cost of the accident (including any personal injuries or property damage). Also, Florida state law requires all licensed drivers to carry insurance coverage. You or your teen driver may get into legal trouble for not carrying the legally required minimum insurance coverage.
To request a quote, you can get in touch with us or go online:
· Phone/WhatsApp: (561) 672-7897
· Online quote: www.simplifiedinsurance.net/online-quote
Simplified Insurance Agency – Insurance Made Simple
Connect with us on: