What is an SR-22?
An SR-22 is a document, on file with your state, proving you have car insurance that meets the minimum coverages required by law. Also known as a “Certificate of Financial Responsibility,” “SR-22 Bond,” or “SR-22 Form,” an SR-22 isn’t a “type” of insurance, but rather an easy-to-get filing. In Florida you’ll likely need an FR-44, which is similar to an SR-22, but requires more liability coverage.
How will I know if I need an SR-22?
An SR-22 is ordered by a court or your state. If it’s court-ordered, the judge will let you know at the hearing. If it’s state-ordered, you’ll typically get a letter from the department (or bureau) of motor vehicles.
Not everyone needs an SR-22. It’s normally required if you’ve been caught driving without insurance or a valid license. Here are some other reasons you might need one:
DUI or DWI conviction;
Driving without enough insurance;
Too many at-fault accidents or violations;
Repeat offenses in a short time frame (for example, three or more speeding tickets within six months);
Not paying court-ordered child support;
Hardship license (issued for temporary driving needs, normally to and from work, because your license has been suspended or revoked).
How can I get an SR-22?
Call your insurance company. If you already have auto insurance, you won’t need to purchase a new policy. You can add the SR-22 to your existing policy, and your insurer will file the SR-22 document with the state requiring it.
If you don’t have auto insurance and need to buy a policy, you’ll want to let any prospective insurer know about the SR-22 up front. Many insurance companies don’t offer SR-22s and you shouldn’t waste time getting a quote if they’re unable to help.
How long will I need an SR-22?
Contact your state’s department of motor vehicles to find out the exact length of time you’ll need to carry an SR-22. Remember, an SR-22 won’t automatically fall off your insurance policy. You’ll have to let your insurer know when you no longer need it. If your policy cancels or lapses while you’re carrying an SR-22, your insurance company will alert the DMV and your license will be suspended.
Is an FR-44 the same thing as an SR-22?
The FR-44 document is very similar to an SR-22. Drivers must file for a certificate of financial responsibility (FR-44) in Florida when cited for driving under the influence an alcohol-related offense. The specific liability insurance requirements for Florida are high, considering the state minimum requirements without any violations. If you’re required to file an FR-44 in Florida, you need to show proof of the following insurance coverage:
Bodily injury coverage of $100,000 per person
Bodily injury coverage of $300,000 per accident
Property damage coverage of $50,000
On average, this is 2,700% more coverage than Florida’s state minimum. If you’re required to file an FR-44, expect your premiums to increase because of the DUI violation and the higher minimums.
If you’ve been cited for one these violations, your state will issue you a formal request. From there, do the following:
Enhance your car insurance coverage to meet the specific liability requirements needed for an FR-44. Request your current provider file an FR-44 with your state’s DMV. There will be a processing fee.
If you do not have insurance, you will need to purchase proper coverage and follow the same steps. All insurance companies in Florida with more than 1,000 policies are required to issue FR-44s.
To request a quote, you can get in touch with us or go online:
· Phone/WhatsApp: (561) 672-7897
· Online quote: www.simplifiedinsurance.net/online-quote
Simplified Insurance Agency – Insurance Made Simple!
Connect with us on: